breaking: Oklahoma Supreme Court broadens custody rights for same-sex parentsbreaking: State official: Marketing worsened Oklahoma's opioid crisisLive video: Day 21 of Oklahoma opioid trial

NewsOK: Oklahoma City News, Sports, Weather & Entertainment

State of emergency declared due to storms across the state


Gov. Kevin Stitt on Wednesday declared a state of emergency for 52 counties in the state following severe storms that spun up tornadoes and brought damaging straight-line winds and heavy flooding.

Counties included in the declaration include: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington.

Storms across the state Tuesday and Wednesday have brought tornadoes, high winds and widespread rain. Damage to homes and businesses have been reported along with damage to outbuildings, trees and utility poles. Parts of northeast and southeast Oklahoma have seen nearly six inches of rain with the storms.

The declaration allows state agencies to make emergency purchases needed for areas hit by the storms. The declaration is also the first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary. The order is in effect for 30 days and could be amended to include additional counties if deemed necessary.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management is asking residents impacted by the storms to report property damage at